My collection – some inkling of it :-)

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for visiting janelyons2000.wordpress.com. All posts have been transferred to from-ireland.net/blog. From-Ireland.net features 54,644 Gravestone records, 43,120 Griffith’s Primary Valuation entries, 19,609 1901 Census entries, 18,945 Birth records, 16,770 Gravestone Photographs uploaded, 16,407 Marriage records, 13,053 1931 Trade Directory entries 11,353 Death records, 7,721 1820 Dublin Directory entries, and 2,091 Lewis Topographical Dictionary entries. ALL CONTENT IS FREE.

From-Ireland.net ContentGravestone recordsgravestone photographsGriffith’s Primary Valuation, 1901 CensusBirth recordsMarriage recordsDeath records1931 Trade Directory1820 Dublin DirectoryLewis’ Topographical Dictionary.

Dr. Jane Lyons,
From-Ireland.net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My collection – some inkling of it :-)

  1. pat mcnee says:

    Enjoy your hobby! I too love old grave yard but have never felt the urge to photograph them. I guess I am to old to start now as I am a 78 this year>
    Pat
    .

    • Pat, I’m glad to meet you and thank you for passing a comment and posting it to my blog, it’s really nice to see

      Thing is, to me – the4 whole being too old to start thing, doessn’t stand ;-) You;re never too old to begin doing something if you enjoy it. 78 is young these days, my Mam she was about that when she died a year ago unexpectedly and everyone tells me she died young.

      So, at 78, you’re reasonably young yet, get out a camera and get the urge, and next year come over here to Ireland

      You;re the kind of person I’d love to meet in person. Thank you for making a post on my blog and I truly appreciatevyour words

      Jane

  2. Peggy says:

    Hi Jane,

    I just want to thank you for creating this amazing resource of material. I’m not close enough to finding my ancestors to know whether this is helpful for me or not but I can appreciate how much you’ve accomplished. Like many others, I find this is a struggle from overseas and sites like yours really help. Best wishes! Peggy Gloth, Seattle

  3. Catherine Hartigan says:

    Hi Jane

    I love the work you are doing. I’ve found a great deal of valuable information from your website and I can’t wait for you to publish photos. I have family from Donaghmore, Ballyragget, (Breen) Warrenstown and Johnstown (Feehan)Co. Kilkenny which I’m trying to trace. If could jump in the car and go and look for myself I would. The other side of the family is Hartigan from Knockgraffon and around Cashel but the Archdiocese has the records all sewn up tightly, demanding very high fees for a search which may not turn up anything. Frustrating to say the least. This is why what you do is so important and If I lived in Ireland, I would volunteer some time to help.

    Keep up the great work Jane. What you do is important and so helpful to amateur genealogists like myself.

    kind regards
    Catherine

  4. Martin Fogarty says:

    Hi Jane:
    I have admiration for your determination; I too have been to a number of graveyards, but none in Ireland. That opportunity affords me this coming May, I had hopes of visiting ancestors (Duffy, Foley, Lahey, Neary, Dooley, Nolan, Devine) tombs. They all left family in Tullemore, Wexford, Cashel, Kilkenny County, and Galway during the mid to late 1840′s. I’ll be traveling with two of my nieces; it isn’t likely we will find many tombs because of time restrants. Maybe on another return I could stay longer and help with your work on the ground?
    High Regards,
    Fogarty

  5. Louise says:

    Do you have photos of McEvoy graves in Rahavannagh Co. Laois or Queen’s Co. ?
    I would like to see if any are relatives if you are willing to check for me. I am looking for a Patrick and Mary McEvoy, possibly died 1805-1850 as we are searching for the parents of my great great grandfather, Dennis McEvoy who migrated to South Australia in 1840?

  6. Seamus says:

    Hi
    Your site is difficult to leave any comment in. However great job being done by lots of people. One big suggestion – all graveyards have plot numbers. They may not be evident or easily seen but they are there somewhere. Attach a plot number to your information and photos and they will be a lot more valuable in the future.
    Just a comment
    Séamus

  7. Jim McNamara says:

    Wow Jane, that is an impressive list. I bet it is not complete, that you will find you’ve done others to add to this list.

    All the best,
    Jim

  8. Dear Jane

    Thank you for this blog. It offers intriguing possibilities. I started my family history journey in earnest almost at the same time you made your original post exactly a year ago.
    This entry in your blog appears to have fascinating possibilities for me and some of my distant cousins, in Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, and US. Because of these entries in your list:

    Templemore COI Co. Tipperary 46
    Templemore Old Co. Tipperary 24
    Templemore RC Co. Tipperary 170

    My Mum had 9 siblings, her Dad came from Templemore, Tipperary, all of whom left Ireland in the early 1900s. On a recent flying long weekend trip to Ireland she and my brother found a still tended grave in the Templemore RC Cemetery for an unknown uncle of hers. This has led has led to a contact between cousins I never previously knew of in Ireland and Australia. We all share the same common Ancestors a Denis and Mary Walsh. Who according to the 1901 and 1911 Census lived in Templemore. My cousins in Ireland have both visited and contacted the various record offices office looking for births deaths and marriages we are drawing blanks being told the majority of the records have been destroyed or lost i the civil war etc. I wonder just what “nuggets” your photos might hold for us.

    I understand your concerns about time and money, and I can understand your passion for graveyards and your “Inklings…. and other posts contain very personal truths, You say above: “……. There are also those who hope, will she go here, there, where-ever. …..”. This entry says you have been and photographed a THERE for us! Templemore Cemeteries and maybe more!

    The family history community refers to Gravestone information as “Monumental Inscriptions”. I have another cousin who has made lots of trips to Wales for research on another branch of the family but sadly many of the grave stones have to use his words “. have either been vandalised or disintegrated over time”.

    I would describe your work and passion as at the very least “Monumental” (1) and “conservational” (2) and “conversational” (3), because it is important, preserves information and provides an opportunity for dialogue between a seeker like me and a conserver like you.

    My cousins and I are looking for records and information about the following surnames Walsh, Gleeson, Atkinson and Landsborough in Tipperary, and Walsh, Cleary Kelly and Bryne in south Wexford .

    May you get to finish your work on your Templemore photographs sooner rather than later, so my cousins and I can share its contents, and may you continue to enjoy your passion. I leave you with a snippet of the words of T.S.Elliot (4) from “Little Gidding”

    With the drawing of this Love and the voice of this
    Calling

    “We shall not cease from exploration
    And the end of all our exploring
    Will be to arrive where we started
    And know the place for the first time.
    Through the unknown, unremembered gate
    When the last of earth left to discover
    Is that which was the beginning;
    At the source of the longest river
    The voice of the hidden waterfall
    And the children in the apple-tree
    Not known, because not looked for
    But heard, half-heard, in the stillness
    Between two waves of the sea”

    Jane, thank you for your passion and love of Graveyards, Your work is important to me and my cousins and I think at the end of it we will all learn something from it but probably not what we expect! As Elliot says ” …And the end of all our exploring – Will be to arrive where we started – And know the place for the first time”

    Bless you

    Rob Lloyd-Owen, Leeds England,

    The following definitions (1), (2) and (3) are from http://www.freedictionary.com
    (1) MONUMENTAL:
    mon·u·men·tal (mny-mntl) adj.
    1. Of, resembling, or serving as a monument.
    2. Impressively large, sturdy, and enduring.
    3. Of outstanding significance: Einstein’s monumental contributions to physics.
    4. Astounding: monumental talent.

    (2) CONSERVATIONAL:
    con·ser·va·tion (knsûr-vshn)
    n.
    1. The act or process of conserving.
    2.
    a. Preservation or restoration from loss, damage, or neglect: manuscripts saved from deterioration under the program of library conservation.
    b. The protection, preservation, management, or restoration of wildlife and of natural resources such as forests, soil, and water.
    3. The maintenance of a physical quantity, such as energy or mass, during a physical or chemical change.
    conser·vation·al adj.

    (3) CONVERSATIONAL:
    con·ver·sa·tion (knvr-sshn)
    n.
    1.
    a. The spoken exchange of thoughts, opinions, and feelings; talk.
    b. An instance of this: held a long conversation on the subject.
    2. An informal discussion of a matter by representatives of governments, institutions, or organizations.
    conver·sation·al adj.
    conver·sation·al·ly adv.
    conversational [ˌkɒnvəˈseɪʃənəl]
    adj
    1. (Electronics & Computer Science / Communications & Information) of, using, or in the manner of conversation
    2. inclined to or skilled in conversation; conversable
    conversationally adv

    (4) A link to a copy of “Little Gidding” by T.S. Elliot – enjoy

Leave a Reply

